4 MPs, actors, defectors, and an economist, BJP raises stakes in Bengal sport


The BJP on Sunday introduced that it’ll area former chief financial adviser to the central authorities and member of the 15th Finance Fee, Ashok Lahiri, from the Alipurduar seat, and minister of state for Setting, Forest and Local weather Change Babul Supriyo from Tollygunge in opposition to TMC minister Arup Biswas, and former journalist Swapan Dasgupta from Tarakeshwar meeting constituency.

Lahiri who retired as govt director of Asian Growth Financial institution (ADB), Manila, on June 30, 2013, and had stints with the World Financial institution and the Worldwide Financial Fund instructed ET: “I imagine the state has numerous potential, and if given a chance I’ll need to do one thing about it.”

Within the ST-dominated Alipurduar constituency which has many tea estates, Lahiri is pitted in opposition to TMC’s sitting MLA Sourav Chakraborty who polled over 44% of votes in 2016, and was lately in an issue for taking Covid-19 vaccine regardless of not being a frontline employee.

The BJP has additionally fielded two different MPs –– Locket Chaterjee from Chuchura in opposition to TMC MLA Asit Mazumdar and Nisit Pramanik in opposition to Udayan Guha, previously with the Ahead Bloc MLA from Dinhata, who joined TMC in 2015, and is a two-time MLA.

The TMC has given nomination to just one MP –– Manas Ranjan Bhunia to contest from Sabang meeting seat in Paschim Medinipur district. Swapan Dasgupta will contest in opposition to Ramendu Sinha Roy, the Hooghly district president of TMC and in addition the president of the farmers physique which is a part of TMC.

Many Hindu teams, and the BJP had slammed Mamata Banerjee of wounding non secular sensibilities when she appointed senior minister Firhad Hakim because the chairman of the Tarakeshwar improvement board to watch all work associated to the Tarakeshwar temple, which is a well-known 288-year-old Shiva temple, in 2017.

The BJP introduced 63 names out of 75 seats that can go to the polls on April 6 and April 10.

Extra MPs and BJP high leaders are anticipated to contest the elections.

There are 31 seats within the third part and 44 seats within the second part and covers Howrah, Hooghly, South 24 Parganas the place the TMC is robust, and in Alipurduar and Cooch Behar the place the BJP made positive aspects within the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Addressing a press convention on the BJP headquarters, get together normal secretary Arun Singh, stated that in all of the poll-bound states, the pattern is in favour of the BJP. He stated candidates had been finalised on the assembly over the weekend convened by get together nationwide JP Nadda of the election committee which was attended by PM Narendra Modi.

TMC leaders who joined the BJP lately, together with former minister Rajib Banerjee, Dipak Haldar, Prabir Ghoshal and 88 year-old Rabindra Bhattacharya who was lately denied a ticket, have been declared as candidates for the seats they received in 2016 –– Domjur, Diamond Harbour, Uttarpara and Singur respectively.

The candidate for Bally constituency has not been introduced but. MLA Vaishali Dalmiya lately joined the BJP. The get together has not but introduced the candidate for Behala west to tackle TMC minister Partha Chaterjee. Quite a lot of actors who joined the BJP lately have additionally been fielded. These embrace Yash Dasgupta from Chanditala in Hooghly, Payel Sarkar from Behala, Tanushree Chakraborty from Shyampukur in Howrah and Anjana Basu from Sonarpur Dakshin seat.

Different well-known candidates included within the BJP listing are Indranil Khan, a medical practitioner from Kasba and former journalist Rantidev Sengupta.

Sonali Guha, as soon as a detailed Mamata Banerjee aide and four-time MLA, who joined the BJP lately was not given a ticket from Satgachia.

The announcement got here with its justifiable share of drama, as quickly after the get together introduced actor Payel Sarkar from Behala East, former Kolkata mayor Sovan Chaterjee and his accomplice Baisakhi Banerjee who joined the BJP in 2017 stop the get together, accusing the get together of humiliating them.

Chaterjee’s estranged spouse Ratna is the TMC candidate from Purba Behala seat that Sovan had received in 2011 and 2016.

Political researcher Sajjan Kumar stated the BJP has fielded actors and a minimum of two MPs have been fielded from powerful seats. “It’s a good transfer as actors and MPs are anticipated to usher in their further 5-10% votes. It is smart to present powerful seats to them. Close to BJP in Bengal, barring a couple of constituencies, it’s the demography and never the candidate that’s more likely to matter.”

TMC spokesperson and MP Sougata Roy stated, from the listing it was clear that the BJP doesn’t have candidates to battle the meeting polls and that’s why it’s counting on its sitting MPs.

A senior BJP chief, on situation of anonymity, instructed ET that Lahiri and lots of different MPs are being nominated to guarantee the individuals of a powerful authorities if the get together wins.

Names of extra MPs, notably from areas resembling Malda and Dinajpur are anticipated to be nominated within the coming days, and even veteran strategist resembling Mukul Roy, and actor Mithun Chakraborty who joined the BJP lately might be requested to contest. “The get together is doing all the things it could for victory. It’s being mentioned how Mithun-da’s candidature from North Kolkata might help the get together as he has many followers there.”

Source link

HostGator Web Hosting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here