A medley of flavours in UP’s Awadh belt makes it an absorbing battle


Awadh area’s 82 constituencies unfold over 13 districts of Uttar Pradesh will go to elections within the fourth and fifth phases on February 23 and 27. In 2017, BJP had gained 67 of those, SP eight, BSP 5 and Congress two. Being the most important area of the state after Purvanchal, it has all of the ballot flavours, starting from farmers’ unrest to Ram temple to caste equations.

Farmers’ Unrest, Lakhimpur

In October, some protesting farmers had been killed after an SUV allegedly ploughed into them from behind. Union minister of state for house Ajay Mishra Teni’s son Ashish Mishra is among the accused. Ashish has received bail from the Lucknow bench of Allahabad HC. The area has a great variety of Sikh voters, who had been energetic in the course of the farmers’ motion. In 2017, BJP had gained all of the eight seats in Lakhimpur, which will even check Teni’s maintain.

Ram Temple

The development of the temple is in full swing in Ayodhya. The UP authorities has introduced a number of tasks for the city and BJP leaders are hopeful of reaping the advantages. Opposition SP and BSP, too, are focussing on Ayodhya. BSP began its Brahmin Sammelan from Ayodhya final July.

Caste Arithmetic

The Awadh area is sort of a mini-UP due to its caste mixture. Often, the get together that positive aspects momentum within the area units a pattern in its favour within the Purvanchal area too. The Purvanchal area will vote within the sixth and seventh phases. After Bundelkhand, the Awadh belt has the utmost variety of Brahmin voters (almost 12%). As well as, there are 7% Thakurs and 5% Banias. Unnao‘s Bhagwantnagar constituency has the utmost variety of Brahmins. In 2017, BJP’s Hridaya Narayan Dikshit gained this seat by over 50,000 votes. BJP has this time fielded Ashutosh Shukla from right here. Awadh additionally has 43% OBC voters and amongst them Yadavs and Kurmis account for 7% every, adopted by 5% Kushwahas. Nishads and Lodhs have 4% votes. The 4 districts of Awadh, Unnao, Sitapur and Raebareli have greater than 30% SC voters. The Pasi and Jatav communities account for 9% and eight% votes, respectively. The area additionally has 14% Muslim voters.

Occasion Hoppers

BJP and the SP have poached leaders to strengthen their place among the many SC and non-Yadav OBC voters. In Raebareli district, two Congress MLAs, Aditi Singh and Rakesh Singh, are contesting on BJP ticket from Raebareli and Harchandpur. In Purwa, BSP MLA Anil Singh is contesting on BJP ticket. BSP MLAs Ram Achal Rajbhar and Lalji Verma are contesting from Akbarpur and Katehari on SP ticket.

Source link

HostGator Web Hosting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here