Election to three RS seats in Kerala to be held on April 30: EC


The Election Commission (EC) on Monday declared that polls to the three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala falling vacant later this month might be held on April 30. The ballot panel issued an in depth press word for “conduct of biennial election to the council of states from Kerala to fill the seats of members retiring on April 21”.

These retiring from these seats embrace Abdul Wahab (IUML), Ok Ok Ragesh (CPI M) and Vayalar Ravi (Congress).

The EC stated notification for the polls might be issued on Tuesday and polling might be held between 9 am and four pm on April 30. The votes might be counted on the identical day.

  • All
  • West Bengal
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Assam
  • Kerala
  • Puducherry

  • In Rajya Sabha polls, votes are counted within the night.

    The election course of for these seats have been within the information lately after the EC had earlier put in abeyance these polls.

    The choice of the ballot panel to problem a recent schedule got here on a day when the Kerala Excessive Courtroom directed the it to carry the biennial election to the three Rajya Sabha seats from the state from the current state meeting.

    “It’s seen that at the very least after it arrived on the choice that it is the responsibility to see that the vacancies are stuffed up on the earliest, the fee is but to take any steps for a similar,” the court docket stated.

    “When the Fee itself has admitted that it’s duty-bound to conduct the election and full the method on the earliest, it is just applicable that it takes expeditious steps with out additional delay to finish the election earlier than one other citizens comes into existence on Might 02, 2021,” Justice P V Asha stated within the order.

    Days after the EC put the Rajya Sabha polls within the state in abeyance, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan had questioned the “political intervention” behind the fee’s choice.

    The EC had then responded by saying that the Legislation Ministry has “no remit” to make suggestion on the schedule of Rajya Sabha elections.

    Monday’s press word stated the EC had then “acquired a reference” from the Legislation Ministry “whereby a query of constitutional propriety was raised.”

    Initially, election to the three Rajya Sabha seats was to be held on April 12.

    Members of legislative meeting elect Rajya Sabha members. The MLAs of the outgoing meeting, through which the ruling LDF has a majority, have been to elect the three new members.

    Polling for Kerala meeting elections have been held on April 6 and counting will happen on Might 2.

    Rajya Sabha elections are often held earlier than the expiry of the time period of retiring members.

    Source link

    HostGator Web Hosting


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here