Tight contest between BJP & Congress in Assam forward of polling for Rajya Sabha seat


Political temperatures are hovering in Dispur, forward of polling for Rajya Sabha seats, amid murmurs over the probability of cross-voting within the tight contest involving the BJP and the Congress.

The All India United Democratic Entrance (AIUDF), the celebration supporting the candidature of the Congress’ nominee, has expressed apprehensions that there is perhaps cross-voting from the Congress camp.

Congress, in the meantime, has scotched rumours that it plans to maintain all lawmakers collectively in a lodge forward of the balloting to stop cross-voting. “These are rumours to create confusion. Our candidate is assembly the MLAs and we’ll win the seat,” Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Bhupen Kumar Borah stated.

Two seats will fall vacant because the phrases of Ranee Narah and Ripun Borah, each from Congress will finish on April 2. Congress has re-nominated Ripun Borah.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Get together (BJP) is assured that it’ll win each seats within the ensuing biennial elections to the Upper House which will likely be held on March 31. It has fielded Pabitra Margherita as its candidate for one seat. BJP’s ally, the United Individuals’s Get together Liberal (UPPL), has fielded Rwngwra Narzary, the president of UPPL, for the second seat.

Congress and the AIUDF, which parted methods after the meeting polls final yr, have come collectively after AIUDF determined to help Congress. Congress requires 42 MLAs within the 126-member Assam meeting to win a seat; the celebration claims to have the help of 44 MLAs. Two MLAs – Sherman Ali Ahmed and Sashikanta Das – are below suspension.

“On the request of Mrs Sonia Gandhi, we determined to help Congress for the Higher Home seat,” AIUDF chief and Dhubri MP Badruddin Ajmal stated Friday.

“From our facet, every little thing is completed and we’ll win each the seats. I can’t reveal the numbers now,” Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma stated. On Sunday, Sarma visited the home of Das and stated that “Das is supporting the federal government. MLAs will vote as per their liking and the whip doesn’t apply. We’ll win each the seats.”

BJP has 63 MLAs, whereas its allies Asom Gana Parishad and UPPL have 9 and 7 MLAS, respectively. The Congress has 27 MLAs and the AIUDF has 15. CPI (M) and Raijor Dal have one lawmaker every in Dispur.

The Bodoland Individuals’s Entrance (BPF), which distanced itself from the Congress and supported the BJP-led authorities, has three MLAs.

Source link

HostGator Web Hosting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here