TMC candidates Shatrughan Sinha, Babul Supriyo file nominations for by-polls in Bengal


Trinamool Congress candidates Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo on Monday filed their nominations for by-polls to a Lok Sabha and an meeting seat to be held on April 12 in West Bengal. Sinha has been fielded for by-election to the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency, whereas Supriyo was nominated for the Ballygunge Meeting seat.

Talking to reporters after submitting his nomination at Alipore Survey Constructing, Supriyo stated: “I’m grateful to ‘Didi’ (TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee) for giving me this chance to contest from the presitigious Ballygunge constituency. I’m actually honoured and settle for the problem.”

The bypoll to Asansol was necessitated as Supriyo resigned because the BJP MP after becoming a member of the TMC in September final 12 months.

The Ballygunge Meeting seat goes for polls as incumbent MLA and state minister Subrata Mukherjee died in November 2021.

Sinha, a former BJP chief, filed his nomination on the workplace of the district Justice of the Peace of Paschim Bardhaman.

The actor-turned-politician had Sunday taken a jibe on the BJP for labelling him as an outsider, questioning what the saffron social gathering makes of Prime Minister Narendra Modi contesting from Varanasi.

“If for nationwide figures just like the PM, contesting the Lok Sabha polls from anyplace is accepted, then the identical holds true for me as effectively,” he had stated.

By-polls to the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency and the Ballygunje meeting seat will likely be held on April 12, and votes will likely be counted on April 16.

Source link

HostGator Web Hosting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here