WB polls: BJP releases first checklist of 57 candidates; pits Suvendu Adhikari in opposition to Mamata Banerjee


The BJP on Saturday launched its first checklist of 57 candidates for the West Bengal meeting polls and fielded Suvendu Adhikari from his house turf of Nandigram, from the place Trinamool Congress president and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has already introduced her candidature.

Former Indian cricketer Ashoke Dinda and ex-IPS officer Bharati Ghosh are among the many BJP candidates, celebration normal secretary Arun Singh stated at a press convention, including that it has conceded one seat to ally AJSU.

With this the celebration has introduced candidates for all however three of the 60 seats which is able to go to polls within the first two of the eight-phase elections to be held between March 27 and April 29.

“Jungle raaj” prevails within the state, and voters have made up their thoughts to oust the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and elect the BJP to energy, Singh claimed.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is ready to handle a rally in Kolkata’s Brigade Parade floor on Sunday, his first after the announcement of the ballot dates.

Nandigram, the positioning of protests in opposition to the Left authorities which had ignited a well-liked upsurge and catapulted the TMC to energy in 2011, is ready for one of many keenest electoral battles within the state with Banerjee taking up her former protegee and now BJP chief Adhikari.

Adhikari had received from the seat in 2016 and resigned just lately earlier than crossing over to the saffron celebration.

Banerjee introduced her candidature from the seat whereas leaving her conventional constituency of Bhowanipore in Kolkata.

Source link

HostGator Web Hosting


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here